What happened to the Pluto, Why it is not a Planet ?

We all know that there are eight Planets (four of them are gas giants and four of them are rocky planets) in the Universe. But before 2006 nine planets were there including Pluto, but in the year 2006 it was relegated to a ‘Dwarf Planet’ by International Astronomical Union (IAU) The Pluto was discovered in 1930 by US Astronomer Clyde Tombaugh. And named after the Roman God of the Under World. After that it was declared as a planet at that time Astronomers supposed that Pluto might be larger than mercury. But there was controversy, few astronomers had different views. Pluto was totally different than other planets of the Universe. It was very tiny in size and too chilled. It was an icy body having temperature of -225℃. It’s orbit is far different than other planets; it has extremely elliptical orbit, where as all other planets have circular orbit. It orbits around the sun in 17° angle and completes an orbit in 248 years of Earth.
In the year 2005 astronomers discovered a planet, Eris outside the orbit of Pluto which was 27% massive than Pluto. This compelled to IAU to redefine the definition of planets. In 2006 the IAU announced a new resolution 5A that States – A Planet is a celestial body that:
i)  is in orbit around the Sun.
ii) that has sufficient mass for its self gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium,(nearly round) shape, and
iii) has cleared the neighborhood around it’s orbit.
While Pluto follows the first two conditions of the resolution 5A of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), it is the third condition where Pluto fails to conciliate.
    As planets have formed over millions of years, their mass and size have made them the dominant gravitational forces in their orbits. Their gravitational force either helps planets consume smaller or equally large bodies around them or push them away with their gravity. Pluto is only 0.07 in mass as compared to most objects around in it’s orbit. So, it has left alone a lot of objects in it’s orbit which may be larger than itself. That’s why Pluto is not a planet anymore.
    To qualify as a planet, Pluto will have to create a gravitational force huge enough to take in or push away other objects in it’s orbit in order to do so, Pluto will have to crash in to one of these objects to gain mass. Until that happens or another objects that satisfies all the conditions mentioned in IAU’s resolution 5A is discovered the Solar system’s planetary count will stay at eight. So friends if you found this article helpful, please do Like and Share. Express your feelings in comment section below, and don’t forget to subscribe to get such amazing article in your email directly. Finally, You guys are amazing…. !
Keep Reading…. !!
Keep Learning….. !!!
Keep Growing…. !!!!
Best of Luck …!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *